

Monroe Public Schools — News Release

1275 N. Macomb St., Monroe, MI 48162 · (734) 265.3000

December 9, 2019
For immediate release

MONROE HIGH SCHOOL HONORS 2019 ATHLETIC HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES



Monroe High School held its 11th Annual Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony on Friday, December 6, 2019, during half-time of the Girls Varsity Basketball Game. Three individuals and two teams were honored – Amanda Arnett, Tauna Kinsey Byrd, Abigail McCollum, the 1929 Track 880 Relay Team, and the 1936 880 Relay Team.

Photo plaques of the inductees were hung in the school's hall to permanently honor them. The inductees received special plaques inscribed with their name and bearing a figure representing the sport they excelled in.

The Eleventh Class of Honorees included:

*Amanda Arnett, Softball, 2010-2013:

Amanda was a 4-year varsity letter winner for the Trojans, who achieved numerous pitching and hitting accolades. As a pitcher, she threw 11 no-hitters, 26 shut-outs, 913 strikeouts, and 64 wins. Her career earned-run-average was 1.06. In addition to superb pitching, Amanda set numerous offensive records for the Trojans. Her season records include 68 rbi's, 16 doubles, 15 triples, and 48 runs scored. Her career records include 188 rbi's, 48 doubles, 36 triples, 26 home runs and 153 runs scored. Amanda was All League (4 years), All District (4 years), All Region (4 years), and All-State Honorable Mention in 2013. She accepted a softball scholarship to Ball State University, where she played 4 years.

*Tauna Kinsey Byrd, Softball, 1994-1996:

Tauna was a 3-year letter winner for the Trojans as a pitcher and infielder. During this time, she established herself as one of the region's best pitchers. As a senior, Tauna batted .385 and posted a pitching record of 22-3. She led the MEGA Conference with 5 shut-outs. Her career records were equally impressive, as she threw 7 no-hitters, totaled 336 strikeouts and 15 shut-outs, and compiled a 33-4 record. For these accomplishments, she was named First Team All GLEA, First Team All-District in 1995, *Monroe Evening News* Player of the Year in 1996, and All-State Honorable Mention in 1996. Tauna received a softball scholarship to Eastern Michigan University, where she played 4 years.

*Abigail McCollum, Four Sport Athlete, 2007-2010:

Abby was a 4-sport letter winner at Monroe High School, amassing 11 varsity letters in soccer (3), basketball (3), track and field (3), and football (2). Soccer was Abby's most dominant sport, as she set school season and career records. She is second in career goals with 81, and she set season records with 7 goals in a game and 40 goals in 2010. Abby was selected Monroe County Soccer Player of the Year twice, All Conference twice, and Region Player of the Year once. Because of Abby's soccer skills, she was invited to try out for the 2009 Trojan football team as a kicking specialist. She came through for the Trojans by kicking 17 of 19 extra points after touchdowns. Abby was elected to play in the Monroe County All-Star game in 2010.

*1929 Track 880 Relay Team – Fred Schatte, John Benedict, Lester Clark, Ronald Sayles

In 1929, the Monroe High School Track Team was in its third year as a blossoming track power in the State of Michigan. Monroe finished 4th in the MHSAA State Meet in 1927 and 5th in 1928. The 1929 880 Yard Relay Team that finished as State Champions helped propel MHS to a 3rd place team finish to continue Monroe's rise to prominence in Michigan Track and Field.

The 880 Yard Relay Team of Fred Schatte, John Benedict, Les Clark, and Ron Sayles distanced themselves from the rest of the field in 1:34.7. Fred Schatte also placed 1st in the 100 yard dash and 2nd in the 220 yard dash. Many of the 1929 Track Team members returned to capture Monroe's 1st State MHSAA Championship in 1930.

*1936 Track 880 Relay Team – Ira Hughes, Percy Zimmerman, Perry Mason, Willie Campbell

The Monroe High School Track team won the 1936 MHSAA State Track Meet largely on the backs of the athletes that won the State Championship in the 880 Yard Relay Team. Ira Hughes, Percy Zimmerman, Perry Mason, and Willie Campbell dominated their relay performance with a time of 1:32.5. Monroe scored points in 8 of 12 events beyond their relay championship. Perry Mason won the 200 yard low hurdles, placed 3rd in the broad jump, and 6th in the 120 yard high hurdles. Ira Hughes won the 100 yard dash and placed 3rd in the 220 yard dash. Willie Campbell placed 2nd in the 120 yard high hurdles. Percy Zimmerman placed 6th in the 100 yard dash. Many members of the 1936 State Championship Team returned to lead Monroe back to the State Championships in 1937.

##

PHOTO CAPTION:

NOTE: Plaques for team members honored posthumously were accepted by family members. The names listed below are inductee names.

<u>Seated:</u> Percy Zimmerman (1936 Track 880 Relay Team), Amanda Arnett (Softball), Tauna Kinsey Byrd (Softball), Abigail McCollum (Soccer, Basketball, Track, and Football).

<u>Standing:</u> Willie Campbell (1936 Track 880 Relay Team), Fred Schatte (1929 Track 880 Relay Team), Ronald Sayles (1929 Track 880 Relay Team), Lester Clark (1929 Track 880 Relay Team).

Also honored but not present: John Benedict (1929 Track 880 Relay Team), Ira Hughes (1936 Track 880 Relay Team), and Perry Mason (1936 Track 880 Relay Team).